Written by admin on August 19, 2020 in

Andrew founded TCS Ltd in 2015 with a number of his former Ph.D. and post-doctoral students. He leads the company’s Research and Development activities for thermoelectric power generation and cooling systems. He has an Honours degree and Ph.D in Electrical and Electronic Engineering from Glasgow University. His Ph.D. work investigated the impact of 3-D electron velocity distribution and space charge effects in high voltage electromagnetic beam focussing for CRT displays.

From 1985 to 2007 Andrew worked in IBM in a number of roles including as a Research Staff Member and latterly as a Senior Technical Staff Member with world-wide responsibility for computer display technologies. In 2007 he moved to Glasgow University as Professor of Power Electronics and shortly thereafter formed the university’s Thermoelectrics Research Group. Whilst at Glasgow he led several £multi-million projects for InnovateUK, EPSRC and the E.U. into industrial applications of thermoelectrics. He was a co-founder of the UK’s EPSRC-funded “TEMPEST”  network that brought together the UK’s academic and industrial leaders in the thermoelectrics field. He also served on the National Physical Laboratory’s Advisory Board for Thermoelectrics and co-authored the UK Thermoelectrics Roadmap.

Andrew has worked as an engineer and physicist for his entire career. He is a Chartered Engineer (C.Eng.) and Chartered Physicist (C.Phys), a Member of the Institute of Phyics (M.Inst.P), a Senior Member of the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (SMIEEE), and a Fellow of the Institution of Electrical Engineers (FIEE), the Institute of Mechanical Engineers (FIMechE) and the Royal Scoety of Edinburgh (FRSE). He holds over 60 patents and has published over 100 peer-reviewed papers covering a diverse range of topics including thermoelectrics, computer architecture and display technologies.

Outside of work he has served as a non-exec director, as a Trustee of a charity, as the Chairman of the Meccano Society of Scotland and was awarded the Sir Alec Issigonis Shield in 2017.